At the heart of Redbridge Museum is a unique collection of over 7000 objects, oral history and film. Once a week we will be selecting one object from Redbridge Museum’s collection to share with you online.
This week we look back 101 years. On 20th March 1913, the Chairman of the Ilford Urban District Council officially opened the extension to Valentines Park. To mark the occasion, this splendid ornamental key was produced.
Valentines park was made up of various purchases and gifts of land from 1898 to the 1920’s. Previously the land was owned by the Ingleby family of Valentines Mansion. The park was created by Ilford Council to offer a place of “relaxation and pleasure” for residents and visitors at a time of a growing urban population, which is still its valuable role today.
For more information on Valentines visit our exhibition a History of Redbridge in Maps
Open Tue-Fri 10am-5pm and Sat 10am-4pm until 14th June 2014
Name – Ceremonial Key
Associated Dates– 1913
Location – On display, Redbridge Museum 2nd Floor, Redbridge Central Library, IG1 1EA
Contact: 020 8708 2317 / www.redbridge.gov.uk/museum
Post Author: A. Deo.